Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 1st, 2012

I think of calendars visually. Months are blocks of smaller squares, just like the paper ones that hang on your wall. Weeks are made of squares, the weekends a darker shade. As of today, 6 of those month blocks are now no more than shadows, and 6 are still bright and ‘active’ as I move forward in time. It’s a Sunday, so the week’s set is 5 white squares, with activities and events colored in, and the weekend a darker shade.

It’s days like today, when I finally slow down, that remind me what is important and that, quite often, I am moving too fast the rest of the time. I keep on waiting for everything to stop–to hit that sweet spot in time when it’s all good, when everything after is easy.

HA!

Ain’t gonna happen.

Again, my weeks have been full of running here and there and not enough time to process what I’ve done.

After Sissinghurst (which I’ve not blogged yet. That will be tomorrow’s chore), I went to Biddulph Grange and then last week to Clandon Park. I’ve also been back and forth to Cambridge a couple of times for university stuff, and to my campus here several times (that alone is a 90+-minute trip), and then last Friday I got up at 4 a.m. to make a 9.30 a.m. seminar. It involved a train, the tube, another train, and a bus just to get to the place!

But to make up for it, yesterday J and I had the BEST DAY OUT! It was gorgeous, it didn’t rain, and we spent the whole day somewhere he’d not been (and I’d only been to a bit). It was the reminder I needed of what is important. To slow down, take a look around, and give myself time to process all of the stuff I’ve been cramming into my brain for the past couple of months. And today we pretty much sat in front of the TV and ate Mexican food all day. So now I feel ready to put my head down and bunny-hole for the next few days.

And, once again, I leave you all with a bunch of blahblah and not very exciting information. But I promise a photo-packed garden update this week. Maybe two if you’re lucky.

So for the next few days, I am lying low.

Read Full Post »